In Celebration of the Human Voice - The Essential Musical Instrument

Home | Doo Wop | Barbershop | World | Contemporary | Christian | Vocal Jazz | Choral | Christmas | Instructional | Arrangements

Nina Simone
Live in '65 & '68

Brown Baby
Four Women
The Ballad of Hollis Brown
Tomorrow Is My Turn/Images
Go Limp
Mississippi Goddam
Go to Hell
Ain't Go No/I Got Life
Backlash Blues
I Put a Spell on You
Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
Why? (The King of Love Is Dead)

Jazz Icons DVDs feature full-length concerts and in-studio performances by the greatest legends of jazz, filmed all over the world from the 1950s through the 1970s. Beautifully transferred from the original masters, each DVD features rare performances that have never been officially released on home video and, in many cases, were never broadcast. Each DVD includes a booklet with liner notes, rare photos and a memorabilia collage. Produced with the full support and cooperation of the artists or their estates. Two incredible concerts from 1965 and 1968 are shared on this DVD, showcasing the multi-faceted Nina Simone in all her glory. She shines as a jazz vocalist extraordinaire on "Tomorrow Is My Turn," as a definitive folk interpreter on Bob Dylan's "The Ballad of Hollis Brown" and as a passionate civil rights activist on both the epic "Four Women" and the scorching "Mississippi Goddam." Nina displays all of the qualities that made her both a supremely gifted jazz singer and pianist as well as the "High Pristess of Soul" on this DVD. 64 minutes.

Item code: 5227DVD | DVD | $19.95 add item to cart
Vocal Jazz | Female | Solo | Run Time: 124 Minutes
884088274429 | 1423463382 | 00320819

Related: Vocal Jazz DVDs